What is an RTO?

A Registered Training Organisation (RTO) is a government registered training provider that can issue its successful students with nationally recognised qualifications from the Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF). More information about the AQF is available from the Australian Government’s Australian Skills Quality Authority (ASQA).

What courses does London College Offer?

Our nationally recognised qualifications include:

  • BSB30120 Certificate III in Business (CRICOS: 110334G)
  • BSB40120 Certificate IV in Business (CRICOS: 110335F)
  • BSB50420 Diploma of Leadership and Management  (CRICOS: 104199D)
  • General English (Beginner to Advanced) (CRICOS: 082023C)
  • BSB50120 Diploma of Business (CRICOS: 110336E)
  • BSB50620  Diploma of Marketing and Communication (CRICOS: 111477F)

What is the VET Quality Framework

The VET Quality Framework replaces the AQTF (for all states other than WA & VIC). The VET Quality Framework aims to achieve greater national consistency and is now nationally regulated by the Australian Skills Quality Authority (ASQA).

What Qualifications are available?

A qualification comprises a number of individual units of competency. Some units are required (compulsory) units, others are elective. The hierarchy of qualifications within the Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF) is:

  • Vocational Graduate Certificate – Level 7
  • Advanced Diploma – Level 6
  • Diploma – Level 5
  • Certificate IV – Level 4
  • Certificate III – Level 3
  • Certificate II – Level 2
  • Certificate I – Level 1

What are Core or Compulsory Units and Elective Units?

Each qualification contains subject units which are either core or compulsory units and elective units. Core units are those that industry has agreed are essential if a person is to be recognised as competent at a particular level. Elective units can be chosen by a candidate and reflect the responsibilities of the individual within their current (or previous) work environment or expand on current skills and knowledge.

What is a Statement of Attainment?

A statement of attainment lists the individual subject units of competency that a student has completed. It is nationally recognised under the AQF. A statement of attainment is proof of your progress towards meeting the requirements for a qualification.

What is RPL?

The process or recognising an individual’s skills and knowledge is known as the recognition of prior learning (RPL). RPL acknowledges that skills and knowledge can be gained formally, through education and training programs, or informally, through life and/or work experience. This minimises the need to repeat training in areas where a person is already competent.

What is a Pathway?

The ability for a candidate to achieve individual units at a pace and method of attainment best suited to them, is a pathway to achieving a nationally recognised qualification. Also included in the pathway is the opportunity for a candidate to build on their competency level/competency units/qualifications already achieved ‐ to achieve more than one qualification.

London College in Melbourne offers part-time and full-time courses to Australian and international students on a student visa. The courses we offer are designed to provide a training ground for career success in a conducive learning environment that is challenging yet motivating.



If you are interested to know more about these courses, do not hesitate to reach out to us.